Press Releases

For Immediate Release
July 15, 2014
Contact: Beth Breeding 202-225-5431


WASHINGTON, D.C. – The House of Representatives today passed H.R. 3086, the Permanent Internet Tax Freedom Act (PITFA), by a voice vote. This broadly bipartisan legislation permanently bans states from taxing Internet access or placing multiple or discriminatory taxes on e-commerce.

Original legislation that temporarily banned Internet access taxes, the Internet Tax Freedom Act (ITFA), was first enacted in 1998 and extended three times with enormous bipartisan support. In the history of the bill’s extensions, only five “no” votes were ever cast in the House and Senate. 

The most recent extension of ITFA expires on November 1, 2014. By striking the 2014 expiration date, PITFA makes the ban on Internet access taxes permanent instead of requiring reauthorization every few years.

House Judiciary Committee Chairman Bob Goodlatte (R-Va.), Congresswoman Anna Eshoo (D-Calif.), Subcommittee on Regulatory Reform, Commercial and Antitrust Law Chairman Spencer Bachus (R-Ala.), Congressman Steve Chabot (R-Ohio), and Congressman Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.) praised the House passage of PITFA in the following joint statement:

“We applaud the passage of the Permanent Internet Tax Freedom Act today in the House. PITFA is a necessary measure to keep Internet access free of taxation. This permanent ban is crucial for protecting access and opportunity for Americans in our growing digital economy. We hope that the Senate promptly acts on this vital legislation before the November 1st deadline.”

If you’d like to be updated about important issues happening in Congress that might affect you, please sign-up for my E-Newsletter.